Haa Dhaalu Atoll

Haa Dhaalu Atoll, also known as Thiladhunmathi Dhekunuburi, is the Maldives’ southern administrative division. This atoll is part of the larger Thiladhunmathi or Tiladummati Atoll, which was divided on May 21, 1958, into northern and southern divisions.

The Haa Dhaalu Atoll is made up of 52 islands, 16 of which are inhabited. Kulhudhuffushi, the largest island in the atoll, serves as the administrative division’s capital. Kulhudhuffushi is the most developed island in the region and is home to the majority of the atoll’s population. The atoll’s other notable islands include Nolhivaranfaru, Vaikaradhoo, and Makunudhoo, which is also known as Malcolm Atoll on Admiralty Charts.

Makunudhoo is a particularly unique island in the atoll due to its large reef. The coral reef-encircled island is thought to have formed around 2,000 years ago. The reef, which stretches for about 35 kilometers, is home to a diverse range of marine life and is a popular snorkeling and diving destination.

The cultural heritage of Haa Dhaalu Atoll is also well-known. The atoll is home to several historic mosques and other structures dating back to the Maldives’ pre-Islamic era. The Hukuru Miskiy mosque in Kulhudhuffushi is one of the atoll’s most notable structures. This mosque, built in the 17th century, is one of the Maldives’ most important historical sites and a popular tourist attraction.

Haa Dhaalu Atoll’s economy is heavily reliant on fishing and agriculture. The atoll is home to several fishing villages, and fishing is a major source of income for the locals. The atoll has also seen an increase in tourism in recent years, with several resorts and guesthouses opening on the islands.

Haa Dhaalu Atoll is a beautiful and unique part of the Maldives that allows visitors to experience the region’s natural beauty and cultural heritage. This southern administrative division of the Maldives has something for everyone, from its stunning coral reefs and diverse marine life to its historic mosques and fishing villages.